Friday, May 26, 2006

Laura Farina wins the 2006 Archibald Lampman Award

Laura Farina wins the 2006 Archibald Lampman Award for her book This Woman Alphabetical, from Pedlar Press.

Named after the 19th-century Confederation poet, Archibald Lampman, the award recognizes an outstanding book of English-language poetry written by an author living in the National Capital Region. Often considered Canada's finest nineteenth century poet, Lampman worked for the Post Office in Ottawa until his death in 1899. His poetry is noted for its ability to immerse metaphysics in the details of nature, which he observed while hiking around what was then the wilderness capital of a new country.

There were eleven entrants to this year's competition:
Daniel Boland: Toward the Chrysalis (Stoneflower Press)
Ronnie R. Brown: States of Matter (Black Moss Press)
Tony Cosier: The Spirit Dances (Penumbra Press)
Laura Farina: This Woman Alphabetical (Pedlar Press)
William Hawkins: Dancing Alone (Broken Jaw)
Bing He: Alphabet Zen (TSAR)
Tom MacGregor: Directions to the Cottage (Wallbridge House)
Nadine McInnis: First Fire (BuschekBooks)
Seymour Mayne: September Rain (Mosaic Press)
E. Russell Smith: Spring Garland (BuschekBooks)
Andrew Steinmetz: Hurt Thyself (McGill Queens University Press)

Recently, entrants participated in a very special poetry reading at Beechwood Cemetery, the resting place of Lampman himself.

The judges in this year's competition were Sue Goyette of Halifax, Ken Howe of Toronto, and Sue Wheeler Lasqueti Island, BC. Honourable mentions go to Tony Cosier, for The Spirit Dances, from Penumbra Press; and to Andrew Steinmetz, for Hurt Thyself, from McGill-Queen's University Press. Thanks to all those who entered this year's Archibald Lampman competition. Special thanks also to this year's jury.